Tag: SST

Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. Boughan + Giveaway!!!

Posted September 17, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 0 Comments

sst
Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. Boughan + Giveaway!!!Cinderella Necromancer by F.M. Boughan
Published by Month9Books
Publication Date: September 5th 2017
Pages: 324
Purchase Links Amazon B&N Indiebound The Book Depository
Goodreads

CINDERELLA,NECROMANCER is CHIME meets ANNA, DRESSED IN BLOOD and was inspired by a real medieval grimoire of necromancy from 15th-century Germany.

Ellison lost her mother at an early age. But since then, her father has found love again. He’s happy and doesn’t quite notice that Ellison does not get along with his new wife or her mean daughters.

When Ellison discovers a necromantic tome while traveling the secret passages of her father’s mansion, she wonders if it could be the key to her freedom.

Until then, she must master her dark new power, even as her stepmother makes her a servant in her own home. And when her younger brother falls incurably ill, Ellison will do anything to ease his pain, including falling prey to her stepmother and stepsisters’ every whim and fancy.

Stumbling into a chance meeting of Prince William during a secret visit to her mother’s grave feels like a trick of fate when her stepmother refuses to allow Ellison to attend a palace festival.

But what if Ellison could see the kind and handsome prince once more? What if she could attend the festival? What if she could have everything she ever wanted and deserved by conjuring spirits to take revenge on her cruel stepmother?

As Ellison’s power grows, she loses control over the evil spirits meant to do her bidding. And as they begin to exert their own power over Ellison, she will have to decide whether it is she or her stepmother who is the true monster.

GUEST POST

What inspired you to write a dark retelling of Cinderella?

The most common reaction to people hearing my title is: “Oh! Huh. What on earth possessed you to put those two things together?!”

To which I like to respond by grinning gleefully, rubbing my hands together, and possibly cackling like Cinderella’s evil stepmother… I joke, I joke! The truth is that several elements came together at once to plant the idea in my head, though it was a slow burn over about a year to get to that point.

One year at Christmas, a family member returned from a trip to England and gifted me a copy of Magic in the Middle Ages, a history text written by Northwestern University professor Richard Kieckhefer. I read the entire thing (because I love history!) but there was one chapter in particular that I found absolutely fascinating. It was about the dark, underground history of the Catholic clergy who would give their sermons by day, but who created their own magic texts and performed summoning rituals by night. The dichotomy was absolutely fascinating—and disturbing—and so I searched for more information about this strange and relatively obscure bit of Medieval history.

That brought me to a text by the same professor, called Forbidden Rites: A Necromancer’s Manual of the Fifteenth Century. Inside this text is a translation of a manuscript that is quite literally a grimoire of magical rituals for summoning spirits and other awful things, and it is written in Latin and German.

In addition to reading these texts, one day I was thinking about fairy tales (I don’t remember why, don’t we all just thinking about stories sometimes?) and wishing that the women in these old stories had a chance to fight back against their circumstances, rather than have to sit around and wait to be rescued by a prince or a fairy godmother. I remember being thoroughly miffed on Cinderella’s behalf, thinking about what would have become of her if there’d been no fairy godmother. If she’d had to rescue herself.

One of the original Cinderella stories comes from Germany (“Aschenputtel” by the Brothers Grimm) and so somehow, my brain put these two things together… and Cinderella was finally allowed to fight back. There is no fairy godmother. There’s no one coming to rescue her. Cinderella has to save herself… and it’s not a sparkly adventure with adorable, talking mice. *dun dun dunnnn*

And that’s how it all came together!


*~~About the Author~~*

F.M. Boughan is a bibliophile, a writer, and an unabashed parrot enthusiast. She can often be found writing in local coffee shops, namely because it’s hard to concentrate with a cat lying on the keyboard and a small, colorful parrot screaming into her ear. Her work is somewhat dark, somewhat violent, somewhat hopeful, and always contains a hint of magic. Her debut YA fantasy, CINDERELLA NECROMANCER, publishes Sept. 5th, 2017 from Month9Books. Feel free to yell at her to get back to work on Twitter (@faithboughan), check out her bookstagram (@boughanfire), and sign up for her newsletter for updates, giveaways, and total randomness.

Social Media: Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Bookstagram


Tour Schedule

9/10 Tour Stops

Excerpt – OMG Books and More

Review  – The Kindred Reader

Interview – A Thousand Words A Million Books

9/17  Tour Stops

Guest Post – Read Write Love 28

Interview –A Backwards Story

Unique Post – Books Boys and Blogs

9/24  Tour Stops

Interview – YA and Wine

Review –Haunted by Books

Review – Wonderland Novels


GIVEAWAY TIME!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

sst

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Sunday Street Team- September ..

Sunday Street Team- September Authors!

Hello there everyone! I would like to introduce the two special authors that the Sunday Street Team will be featuring this month. If you’ve forgotten what the SST is, click HERE! They are…. Linsey Miller (author of Mask of Shadows) and F. M. Boughan (author of Cinderella Necromancer)!                                                    […]

Posted September 1, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 0 Comments

Introducing…My New Partn..

Introducing…My New Partners in Crime for SUNDAY STREET TEAM!!!

Why hello there everyone! Long time no see! It’s me, Nori, aka the founder of the Sunday Street Team (if you still remember that). After all, it’s been a couple months! But, to refresh your memory, the SST is a combination of a blog tour, street team, and blog tag that I organize where a group of bloggers help to highlight 1-3 books/authors per month! My goal is the first Sunday Street […]

Posted February 10, 2017 by Nori in Street Team / 1 Comment

December’s SST~ A Reflec..

December’s SST~ A Reflection + Giveaway!

Why hello there everyone! Long time no chat! This month, I’m sorry to say that the Sunday Street Team isn’t featuring one author. But, since it’s the end of the year, I figured now would be a good time to reflect upon SST’s journey.   When I started SST, I truly didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I figured that maybe a couple of my blogger friends would […]

Posted December 1, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 8 Comments

Sunday Street Team- October Au..

Sunday Street Team- October Authors!

Hello there everyone! I would like to introduce the special authors that the Sunday Street Team will be featuring this month. If you’ve forgotten what the SST is, click HERE! They are…. Sarah Glenn Marsh (author of Fear the Drowning Deep),Aprilynne Pike (author of Glitter)  and Becky Allen (author of Bound By Blood and Sand)!                                 […]

Posted October 1, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 2 Comments

Sunday Street Team- September ..

Sunday Street Team- September Author!

Hello there everyone! I would like to introduce the special author that the Sunday Street Team will be featuring this month. If you’ve forgotten what the SST is, click HERE! She is…. Jessica Cluess (author of A Shadow Bright and Burning) !                                               I am very excited to feature Jessica, […]

Posted September 1, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 1 Comment

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Gues..

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Guest Post from Kathleen Glasgow + Giveaway!

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Published by Delacorte Press Publication Date: August 30th 2016 Pages: 416 Goodreads For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.      Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. […]

Posted August 28, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 2 Comments

Sunday Street Team- August Aut..

Sunday Street Team- August Author!

Hello there everyone! I would like to introduce the special author that the Sunday Street Team will be featuring this month. If you’ve forgotten what the SST is, click HERE! She is…. Kathleen Glasgow (author of Girl in Pieces) !                                      I am very excited to feature Kathleen  and hope that you will enjoy reading about […]

Posted August 1, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 2 Comments

July SST: Signs of You by Emil..

July SST: Signs of You by Emily France Guest Post + Giveaway!!!

Signs of You by Emily France Published by Soho Teen Publication Date: July 19th 2016 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 240 Format: Physical ARC Source: Publisher, SST Goodreads Since sixteen-year-old Riley Strout lost her mother two years ago, her saving grace has been her quirky little family in the grief support group she joined as a freshman. Jay, Kate, and Noah understand her pain; each lost a loved one, and they’ve […]

Posted July 10, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 3 Comments

Sunday Street Team- July Autho..

Sunday Street Team- July Authors!

Hello there everyone! I would like to introduce the special author that the Sunday Street Team will be featuring this month. If you’ve forgotten what the SST is, click HERE! She is…. Emily France (author of Signs of You) !                                      I am very excited to feature Emily  and hope that you will enjoy reading about […]

Posted July 1, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Street Team / 2 Comments