Tag: review

Double Mini Reviews~ Two 3 Star Books That Were Only Okay :/

Posted October 21, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 4 Comments

Double Mini Reviews~ Two 3 Star Books That Were Only Okay :/Ruined (Ruined, #1) by Amy Tintera
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 3rd 2016
Pages: 368
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

A revenge that will consume her. A love that will ruin her.
Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war. She lacks the powers of her fellow Ruined. Worst of all, she witnessed her parents’ brutal murders and watched helplessly as her sister, Olivia, was kidnapped.

But because Em has nothing, she has nothing to lose. Driven by a blind desire for revenge, Em sets off on a dangerous journey to the enemy kingdom of Lera. Somewhere within Lera’s borders, Em hopes to find Olivia. But in order to find her, Em must infiltrate the royal family.

In a brilliant, elaborate plan of deception and murder, Em marries Prince Casimir, next in line to take Lera’s throne. If anyone in Lera discovers Em is not Casimir’s true betrothed, Em will be executed on the spot. But it’s the only way to salvage Em’s kingdom and what is left of her family.

Em is determined to succeed, but the closer she gets to the prince, the more she questions her mission. Em’s rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

MINI REVIEW

RUINED was one of the books that I was really hoping would appear at ALAMW16. After all, it sounded great, and I was looking forward to reading it. So, when I saw that they were handing out copies, I was very happy. Because I loved the synopsis of RUINED, I decided to bring it with me on vacation. After all, what could be better than reading a great book by the beach? Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations.

From the moment I started reading, I realized that this book wasn’t going to be as good as I thought. In the beginning, I had a deja vu moment (which I later realized was because it was similar to The Orphan Queen). As you all know, I LOVED TOQ, so I wasn’t quite sure what to think. On hindsight, Ruined felt like a patchwork quilt that just took a little bit of plot from a ton of different YA fantasies. There wasn’t anything unique about it!

I thought that the characters were developed, but nothing special. I feel like Emelina and Cas were the typical fantasy duo. A prince and a princess, on opposite sides of war, who eventually have to marry and sometimes fall in love. Seriously can there ever be a different pattern? It’s so frustrating to me.

Ruined was a quick read but nothing special. I give it 3/5stars.


Double Mini Reviews~ Two 3 Star Books That Were Only Okay :/What You Always Wanted (If Only . . ., #8) by Kristin Rae
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: March 29th 2016
Pages: 320
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

If only…he was the boy she’s been dreaming of.

Theatre girl Maddie Brooks has always had high standards for guys. But she has yet to find one who can live up to the classic Hollywood heartthrobs, especially the dreamy song-and-dance man Gene Kelly.

When Maddie begins to carpool with Jesse Morales, her new neighbor and star pitcher of the baseball team, she’s struck by his wit, good looks, and love for his family—but a guy so into sports is definitely not her style. Then Maddie discovers that Jesse was raised as a dancer and still practices in the community theatre’s dance studio to keep in shape. Perhaps her perfect dream guy exists after all! But when it becomes clear that baseball—not dance—is Jesse’s passion, can Maddie find a way to let her dream guy go and appreciate the charms of the amazing guy in front of her?

This fun, high school theatre romance in the If Only line is for anyone who has ever wished for that impossibly perfect guy.

MINI REVIEW

Are you looking for a cliche filled YA contemporary book? If so, WHAT YOU ALWAYS WANTED is definitely what you currently want. Get it? Get the bad pun? Yes? No? *coughs* Okay, I’ll continue.

Let’s see…A girl moves to a new town. She happens to find a friend immediately. CHECK. She enters school and finds eye candy. CHECK. The eye candy happens to be her friend’s brother. CHECK.

Okay, don’t worry, I’m not going to go any further into the cliches- and I didn’t spoil anything major. But, just from those couple of sentences, I hope you can tell that you’re in for a very unoriginal book. Sure, the characters were fine- some were actually funny! But overall, they were mostly bland and didn’t stand out. The romance? Super predictable. Honestly, nothing shocked me about this book. I predicted the ending from a mile away.

Now, the writing itself was fine. I actually liked the author’s style, because it flowed nicely. So, please don’t get me wrong. I do like the writing- I’m not criticizing the author. I just didn’t like the plot of the book. I prefer to be surprised! I like plot twists! But hey- that’s just me.

Overall, if you can get past the cliches, this book is decent. I give it 3/5stars.

three-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Book Review: Seven Black Diamo..

Book Review: Seven Black Diamonds ~ Love Fae? Read This Book!

Seven Black Diamonds (Seven Black Diamonds, #1) by Melissa Marr Published by HarperCollins Publication Date: March 1st 2016 Pages: 400 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Lilywhite Abernathy is a criminal. Her father’s “unconventional” business has meant a life of tightly held secrets, concealed weaponry, and a strict code. But Lily’s crime isn’t being the daughter of a powerful mob boss. Her guilt lies in the other half of her DNA—the part […]

Posted October 14, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

Double Mini Reviews- Double th..

Double Mini Reviews- Double the Fun! Check out ASIC and GATU!

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1) by Brittany Cavallaro Published by Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: March 1st 2016 Pages: 321 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited […]

Posted October 7, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ARC Review: Beyond the Red by ..

ARC Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae!!!

Beyond the Red (Beyond the Red, #1) by Ava Jae Published by Sky Pony Press Publication Date: March 1st 2016 Pages: 360 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads A story of betrayal, love, and loss—all on a technologically advanced alien planet where monarchy reigns, but lies rule. Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. She’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her […]

Posted July 25, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

ARC Review: And I Darken by Ki..

ARC Review: And I Darken by Kiersten White!!!

And I Darken by Kiersten White Published by Delacorte Press Publication Date: June 28th 2016 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 496 Format: eARC, Physical ARC Source: Conference, NG Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in […]

Posted June 18, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 12 Comments

Book Review: Please Don’..

Book Review: Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims!

Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims Published by HarperTeen Publication Date: May 24th 2016 Genres: Dark Contemporary Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Debut author Laura Tims writes an intense and utterly gripping contemporary YA tale perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars. Joy has done everything to protect her twin sister…including murder. Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that’s what she […]

Posted May 13, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 11 Comments

May SST: Genius- The Game Revi..

May SST: Genius- The Game Review + Giveaway!!!

Genius: The Game by Leopoldo Gout Published by Feiwel & Friends Publication Date: May 3rd 2016 Genres: Thriller Pages: 304 Format: Physical ARC Source: SST Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Trust no one. Every camera is an eye. Every microphone an ear. Find me and we can stop him together. The Game: Get ready for Zero Hour as 200 geniuses from around the world go head to head in a competition […]

Posted May 8, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews, Giveaway, Street Team / 3 Comments

ARC Review: Summer of Supernov..

ARC Review: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods!!!

Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods Published by Crown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: May 10th 2016 Pages: 352 Goodreads Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams. When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle […]

Posted April 29, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: The Mirror King by ..

Blog Tour: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows: Review + Giveaway!!!

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) by Jodi Meadows Published by Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: April 5th 2016 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 544 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  The Book Depository Goodreads Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies. HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in […]

ARC Review: Daughters of Ruin ..

ARC Review: Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner!!!

Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books Publication Date: April 5th 2016 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 320 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Goodreads Game of Thrones meets Graceling in a thrilling debut that follows the four fierce princesses of enemy kingdoms as their worlds collide in the throes of war. Rhea, Cadis, Suki, and Iren have lived together since they were children. They are called sisters. […]

Posted March 25, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments