Tag: guest post

Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. Boughan + Giveaway!!!

Posted September 17, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 0 Comments

sst
Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. Boughan + Giveaway!!!Cinderella Necromancer by F.M. Boughan
Published by Month9Books
Publication Date: September 5th 2017
Pages: 324
Purchase Links Amazon B&N Indiebound The Book Depository
Goodreads

CINDERELLA,NECROMANCER is CHIME meets ANNA, DRESSED IN BLOOD and was inspired by a real medieval grimoire of necromancy from 15th-century Germany.

Ellison lost her mother at an early age. But since then, her father has found love again. He’s happy and doesn’t quite notice that Ellison does not get along with his new wife or her mean daughters.

When Ellison discovers a necromantic tome while traveling the secret passages of her father’s mansion, she wonders if it could be the key to her freedom.

Until then, she must master her dark new power, even as her stepmother makes her a servant in her own home. And when her younger brother falls incurably ill, Ellison will do anything to ease his pain, including falling prey to her stepmother and stepsisters’ every whim and fancy.

Stumbling into a chance meeting of Prince William during a secret visit to her mother’s grave feels like a trick of fate when her stepmother refuses to allow Ellison to attend a palace festival.

But what if Ellison could see the kind and handsome prince once more? What if she could attend the festival? What if she could have everything she ever wanted and deserved by conjuring spirits to take revenge on her cruel stepmother?

As Ellison’s power grows, she loses control over the evil spirits meant to do her bidding. And as they begin to exert their own power over Ellison, she will have to decide whether it is she or her stepmother who is the true monster.

GUEST POST

What inspired you to write a dark retelling of Cinderella?

The most common reaction to people hearing my title is: “Oh! Huh. What on earth possessed you to put those two things together?!”

To which I like to respond by grinning gleefully, rubbing my hands together, and possibly cackling like Cinderella’s evil stepmother… I joke, I joke! The truth is that several elements came together at once to plant the idea in my head, though it was a slow burn over about a year to get to that point.

One year at Christmas, a family member returned from a trip to England and gifted me a copy of Magic in the Middle Ages, a history text written by Northwestern University professor Richard Kieckhefer. I read the entire thing (because I love history!) but there was one chapter in particular that I found absolutely fascinating. It was about the dark, underground history of the Catholic clergy who would give their sermons by day, but who created their own magic texts and performed summoning rituals by night. The dichotomy was absolutely fascinating—and disturbing—and so I searched for more information about this strange and relatively obscure bit of Medieval history.

That brought me to a text by the same professor, called Forbidden Rites: A Necromancer’s Manual of the Fifteenth Century. Inside this text is a translation of a manuscript that is quite literally a grimoire of magical rituals for summoning spirits and other awful things, and it is written in Latin and German.

In addition to reading these texts, one day I was thinking about fairy tales (I don’t remember why, don’t we all just thinking about stories sometimes?) and wishing that the women in these old stories had a chance to fight back against their circumstances, rather than have to sit around and wait to be rescued by a prince or a fairy godmother. I remember being thoroughly miffed on Cinderella’s behalf, thinking about what would have become of her if there’d been no fairy godmother. If she’d had to rescue herself.

One of the original Cinderella stories comes from Germany (“Aschenputtel” by the Brothers Grimm) and so somehow, my brain put these two things together… and Cinderella was finally allowed to fight back. There is no fairy godmother. There’s no one coming to rescue her. Cinderella has to save herself… and it’s not a sparkly adventure with adorable, talking mice. *dun dun dunnnn*

And that’s how it all came together!


*~~About the Author~~*

F.M. Boughan is a bibliophile, a writer, and an unabashed parrot enthusiast. She can often be found writing in local coffee shops, namely because it’s hard to concentrate with a cat lying on the keyboard and a small, colorful parrot screaming into her ear. Her work is somewhat dark, somewhat violent, somewhat hopeful, and always contains a hint of magic. Her debut YA fantasy, CINDERELLA NECROMANCER, publishes Sept. 5th, 2017 from Month9Books. Feel free to yell at her to get back to work on Twitter (@faithboughan), check out her bookstagram (@boughanfire), and sign up for her newsletter for updates, giveaways, and total randomness.

Social Media: Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Bookstagram


Tour Schedule

9/10 Tour Stops

Excerpt – OMG Books and More

Review  – The Kindred Reader

Interview – A Thousand Words A Million Books

9/17  Tour Stops

Guest Post – Read Write Love 28

Interview –A Backwards Story

Unique Post – Books Boys and Blogs

9/24  Tour Stops

Interview – YA and Wine

Review –Haunted by Books

Review – Wonderland Novels


GIVEAWAY TIME!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

sst

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Post About YA Lifeline- ..

Guest Post About YA Lifeline- a Charity Auction Benefiting The Trevor Project

GUEST POST   Back in spring of 2015, I was editing a YA anthology of Shakespeare retellings called Perchance to Dream. Though I had published several short stories in various collections at that point, it was the first time I had ever edited a book myself, and I was excited and nervous and all the things that come along with doing something like this for the first time. I was […]

Posted October 3, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 3 Comments

Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends..

Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Guest Post

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Publication Date: October 4th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Sloane isn’t expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that’s exactly what happens. Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights […]

Posted October 2, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Int..

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Introducing…Jake Burt and 10 Amazing MG Read Aloud Novels + Giveaway!

Greetings from Witness Protection! Published by Feiwel & Friends The book is about a 13-year-old pickpocket in the foster-care system who longs for her own family. When a clan called the Trevors offers to take her in, it seems like she’s gotten exactly what she wanted – until she learns that the family is being pursued by a killer and is about to enter the witness-protection program. TEN AMAZING MG […]

Posted September 7, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, My Features / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: The Possibility of ..

Blog Tour: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Guest Post!

The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: September 6th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Together is somewhere they long to be. Ash Gupta has a life full of possibility. His senior year is going exactly as he’s always wanted– he’s admired by his peers, enjoying his classes and getting the kind of grades that his wealthy, immigrant parents expect. There’s only […]

Posted August 30, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Gues..

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Guest Post from Kathleen Glasgow + Giveaway!

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Published by Delacorte Press Publication Date: August 30th 2016 Pages: 416 Goodreads For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.      Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. […]

Posted August 28, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to..

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to Gifted by H. A Swain + Giveaway!!!

Gifted by H.A. Swain Published by Feiwel & Friends Publication Date: June 14th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In Orpheus Chanson’s world, geniuses and prodigies are no longer born or honed through hard work. Instead, procedures to induce Acquired Savant Abilities (ASAs) are now purchased by the privileged. And Orpheus’s father holds the copyright to the ASA procedure. Zimri Robinson, a natural […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 8 Comments

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Muk..

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee~ Top 10 Books & Videos About Real Conjoined Twins + Giveaway!!!

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Publication Date: July 26th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In a powerful and daring debut novel, Sonya Mukherjee shares the story of sisters Clara and Hailey, conjoined twins who are learning what it means to be truly extraordinary. Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins Clara and Hailey have lived in the same […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 5 Comments

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unboun..

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unbound Pages: 3 Reasons You Should Be Creating Graphics for Every Post

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to be guest-posting today on Nori’s blog! I had the pleasure of meeting Nori at BEA in May and she is just as sweet in real life as she is online. So I know all her readers are the nicest! Before we get started, a little about me. I’m Rebecca and I blog over at Unbound Pages . I’ve been blogging for a little over […]

Posted July 15, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 11 Comments

Guest Post by Calista Lynne: W..

Guest Post by Calista Lynne: Writing the Villain ~ The Many Layers of Morality

We Awaken by Calista Lynne Published by Harmony Ink Press Publication Date: July 14th 2016 Pages: 180 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N Goodreads Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an […]

Posted July 14, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 2 Comments