Tag: guest post

EE18ers ~ Guest Post by Nisha Sharma!

Posted October 29, 2017 by Nori in Guest Posts, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ Guest Post by Nisha Sharma!My So-Called Bollywood Life Publication Date: May 2018
Goodreads

Winnie Mehta was never really convinced that Raj was her soulmate, but their love was written in the stars. Literally, a pandit predicted Winnie would find the love of her life before her 18th birthday, and Raj meets all of the qualifications. Which is why Winnie is shocked to return from her summer at film camp to find her boyfriend of three years hooking up with Jenny Dickens. Worse, Raj is crowned chair of the student film festival, a spot Winnie was counting on for her film school applications. As a self-proclaimed Bollywood expert, Winnie knows this is not how her perfect ending is scripted.

Then there’s Dev, a fellow film geek, and one of the few people Winnie can count on to help her reclaim control of her story. Dev is smart charming, and challenges Winnie to look beyond her horoscope to find someone she’d pick for herself. But does falling for Dev mean giving up on her prophecy, and her chance to live happily ever after? To get her Bollywood-like life on track, Winnie will need a little bit of help from fate, family, and of course, a Bollywood movie star.

Like an expertly choreographed Bollywood dance scene, Nisha Sharma’s off-beat love story dazzles in the lime light.

 

Guest Post – The Art of Patience

First and foremost, Nori, thanks so much for hosting this amazing blog series! I’m so excited to be sharing a platform with awesome talent. 2018 is going to be epic.

‘My So-Called Bollywood Life’ comes out in May of 2018 with Crown Books for Young Readers and it’s about a Bollywood loving Jersey girl who finds herself at odds with destiny. I came up with the concept for it when I was still in law school, but didn’t start writing the story the story until I entered an M.F.A. program at Wilkes University at which time I had to complete a novel-length piece as part of my thesis.

That was in July of 2013.

I finished the book in 6-8 months, sold movie writes to Bend-it Films (Gurinder Chadha) and Storefront Pics (Susan Cartsonis). Two months later, Crown Books for Young Readers picked it up.

That was May of 2014.

My book underwent revisions that I started working on at the end of 2014. By then I knew a 2016 release date wasn’t going to happen. And because I have an editor who saw more in me than I saw in myself, those revisions continued through 2015. And 2016. And 2017.

My book will come out 4 years after I’ve sold it.

For those of you know the publishing industry, that’s twice the length of time it takes to revise and publish a book. I was so scared and worried that my book was never going to happen. I didn’t recognize it anymore after I’d rewritten it again and again and again. The cover changed 3 times and the title changed just as many. Authors who sold with me had already published their second books while I was still between concept edits and line edits. It was as if I was stuck in time while everyone else was moving ahead of me.

It took a while, but with the help of my editor, my agent and some fantastic friends, I’ve somehow managed to master the art of patience.

What is the art of patience? Well, I’ll tell you.

It’s knowing you can’t change what is or what will be. It’s understanding that some things are out of your control. It’s identifying the time that you spend worrying about ‘missing out’ and redirecting it towards more productive and positive actions. And most importantly, it’s focusing on the ‘why of the wait’, or why you’re waiting in the first place.

In my case, things started clicking for me in October of 2016. Instead of focusing on when my book was going to hit the shelves, I started to think about ways that I could promote ‘My So-Called Bollywood Life’ when it finally happened. That’s why I’ve set up a Zazzle store. I found a wonderful graphic designer in India who does some amazing work, and in partnership, we’re creating the ‘Winnie Mehta Bolly-boutique.’  The store will house fun swag that I used to spend my childhood looking for to exclaim my Bollywood fanaticism. By the time I was done creating and implementing my idea, I’d reached the copy editing phase in my publishing process.

Then, in an effort to connect with readers who love Bollywood just as much as I do, I compiled a list of all of the Bollywood movies that I love, and after mentioning it to my editor, we’ve decided to include it in the back of the book! My compilation will be available to anyone who buys the novel so that they can check out some great Bollywood films.

Once I got my head out of my butt, and accepted that my journey was going to be different than everyone else’s, my productivity went through the roof. I see a lot of people, both in my day job and in the publishing world, who panic because something that they’re waiting for hasn’t come through on time. I still panic sometimes in those situations. But remembering what the end result will be, focusing on the ‘why’ of the wait, that’s what helps me practice the art of patience. I’m so grateful for those of you who have been cheering me on over the years (thanks, Nori!). You’ve also kept me going while I’ve to share my story with you. I hope that my hard work make you proud.

2018, baby. Here we come!


*~~About the Author~~*

Award-winning author Nisha Sharma was raised in the countryside of Northeast, Pennsylvania. With very little to do in a small town, Nisha filled her spare time with eighties music, Bollywood movies, and lots of romance novels. When she ran out of romances to read at her local library, she started writing sequels to her favorites and she’s been writing ever since. Her young adult romance ‘My So-Called Bollywood Life’ comes out in May 2018 with Crown Books for Young Readers. 
Social Media Links:  Goodreads ~ Instagram ~  Twitter ~ Website 

 

 

Grand Prize Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow to check out another enchantingly epic #EE18ers post! 😉

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. B..

Sept SST: Guest Post by F.M. Boughan + Giveaway!!!

Cinderella Necromancer by F.M. Boughan Published by Month9Books Publication Date: September 5th 2017 Pages: 324 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  The Book Depository Goodreads CINDERELLA,NECROMANCER is CHIME meets ANNA, DRESSED IN BLOOD and was inspired by a real medieval grimoire of necromancy from 15th-century Germany. Ellison lost her mother at an early age. But since then, her father has found love again. He’s happy and doesn’t quite notice that Ellison […]

Posted September 17, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 0 Comments

Guest Post About YA Lifeline- ..

Guest Post About YA Lifeline- a Charity Auction Benefiting The Trevor Project

GUEST POST   Back in spring of 2015, I was editing a YA anthology of Shakespeare retellings called Perchance to Dream. Though I had published several short stories in various collections at that point, it was the first time I had ever edited a book myself, and I was excited and nervous and all the things that come along with doing something like this for the first time. I was […]

Posted October 3, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 3 Comments

Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends..

Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Guest Post

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Publication Date: October 4th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Sloane isn’t expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that’s exactly what happens. Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights […]

Posted October 2, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Int..

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Introducing…Jake Burt and 10 Amazing MG Read Aloud Novels + Giveaway!

Greetings from Witness Protection! Published by Feiwel & Friends The book is about a 13-year-old pickpocket in the foster-care system who longs for her own family. When a clan called the Trevors offers to take her in, it seems like she’s gotten exactly what she wanted – until she learns that the family is being pursued by a killer and is about to enter the witness-protection program. TEN AMAZING MG […]

Posted September 7, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, My Features / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: The Possibility of ..

Blog Tour: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Guest Post!

The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: September 6th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Together is somewhere they long to be. Ash Gupta has a life full of possibility. His senior year is going exactly as he’s always wanted– he’s admired by his peers, enjoying his classes and getting the kind of grades that his wealthy, immigrant parents expect. There’s only […]

Posted August 30, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Gues..

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Guest Post from Kathleen Glasgow + Giveaway!

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Published by Delacorte Press Publication Date: August 30th 2016 Pages: 416 Goodreads For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.      Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. […]

Posted August 28, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to..

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to Gifted by H. A Swain + Giveaway!!!

Gifted by H.A. Swain Published by Feiwel & Friends Publication Date: June 14th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In Orpheus Chanson’s world, geniuses and prodigies are no longer born or honed through hard work. Instead, procedures to induce Acquired Savant Abilities (ASAs) are now purchased by the privileged. And Orpheus’s father holds the copyright to the ASA procedure. Zimri Robinson, a natural […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 8 Comments

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Muk..

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee~ Top 10 Books & Videos About Real Conjoined Twins + Giveaway!!!

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Publication Date: July 26th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In a powerful and daring debut novel, Sonya Mukherjee shares the story of sisters Clara and Hailey, conjoined twins who are learning what it means to be truly extraordinary. Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins Clara and Hailey have lived in the same […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 5 Comments

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unboun..

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unbound Pages: 3 Reasons You Should Be Creating Graphics for Every Post

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to be guest-posting today on Nori’s blog! I had the pleasure of meeting Nori at BEA in May and she is just as sweet in real life as she is online. So I know all her readers are the nicest! Before we get started, a little about me. I’m Rebecca and I blog over at Unbound Pages . I’ve been blogging for a little over […]

Posted July 15, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 11 Comments