Tag: book

EE18ers ~ Music + Dance Playlist by Gloria Chao!

Posted October 19, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ Music + Dance Playlist by Gloria Chao!American Panda by Gloria Chao
Published by Simon Pulse
Publication Date: February 6, 2018
Purchase Links Amazon B&N Indiebound The Book Depository
Goodreads

An incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her germophobia and crush on a Japanese classmate.

At seventeen, Mei should be in high school, but skipping fourth grade was part of her parents' master plan. Now a freshman at MIT, she is on track to fulfill the rest of this predetermined future: become a doctor, marry a preapproved Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer, produce a litter of babies.

With everything her parents have sacrificed to make her cushy life a reality, Mei can't bring herself to tell them the truth--that she (1) hates germs, (2) falls asleep in biology lectures, and (3) has a crush on her classmate Darren Takahashi, who is decidedly not Taiwanese.

But when Mei reconnects with her brother, Xing, who is estranged from the family for dating the wrong woman, Mei starts to wonder if all the secrets are truly worth it. Can she find a way to be herself, whoever that is, before her web of lies unravels?

Dance Playlist!

In American Panda, dance is the one place my protagonist can be herself, where age, race, looks, and intelligence don’t matter. When she’s gliding across the floor, she’s not Taiwanese or American—she’s just Mei.

I’m so excited to share a collection of my favorite dance routines, many of which I watched for inspiration while writing. (Unfortunately, my favorite Chinese dance routines are not available online.)

 

Music Playlist!

I’d also love to share a sample of the music that inspired me while writing American Panda. For the scenes with Mei’s parents, I listened to Wang Leehom, my favorite Chinese pop singer. Fun fact: I first heard the two featured Wang Leehom songs in Taiwan in concert. For the hip hop dance scenes, Beyoncé and Missy Elliott always had me popping and locking in my chair as I typed. Yanni’s enchanting Nightingale is an example of the music I listened to for scenes where Mei mixes Chinese dance and jazz to form her own style, a reflection of her struggle with her identity.

I hope you enjoyed this peek behind the American Panda curtain! Thank you so much for reading, watching, and listening!


*~~About the Author~~*

Gloria Chao is an MIT graduate turned dentist turned writer. She currently lives in Chicago with her ever-supportive husband, for whom she became a nine-hole golfer (sometimes seven). She is always up for cooperative board games, Dance Dance Revolution, or soup dumplings. She was also once a black belt in kung-fu and a competitive dancer, but that side of her was drilled and suctioned out. Visit her tea-and-book-filled world at GloriaChao.Wordpress.com

Social Media Links: Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Instagram ~  Twitter ~ Tumblr ~ Website

 

Grand Prize Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow to check out another enchantingly epic #EE18ers post! 😉

Tags: , , , , , , ,


EE18ers ~ Love, Hate, & O..

EE18ers ~ Love, Hate, & Other Filters Aesthetics by Samira Ahmed + Giveaway!

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed Published by Soho Teen Publication Date: January 16th 2018 Pages: 288 Purchase Links Amazon~  Indiebound Goodreads A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good […]

Posted October 18, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ Playlist by Dana Mel..

EE18ers ~ Playlist by Dana Mele + Giveaway!

People Like Us by Dana Mele Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Publication Date: February 27th 2018 Pages: 384 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads A sharp psychological thriller that’s just right for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Pretty Little Liars –this story will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she’s reinvented herself entirely. […]

Posted October 17, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 3 Comments

EE18ers ~ Author Interview w/ ..

EE18ers ~ Author Interview w/ Melissa Sarno + Giveaway!

Author Interview I noticed on your website that you’ve written children’s books previously, but JUST UNDER THE CLOUDS is your MG debut. Why did you decide to write a MG book? Cora, the main character of JUST UNDER THE CLOUDS, really dictated my ‘switch’ to middle grade. Her voice and story were very strong and insistent, straight from the beginning. As soon as I realized I was writing from the […]

Posted October 16, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Interviews, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ The Sea Witch Fun Fa..

EE18ers ~ The Sea Witch Fun Facts by Sarah Henning + Giveaway!

The Sea Witch by Sarah Henning Published by Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: May 1st 2018 Pages: 464 Goodreads Pitched as the never-before-told origin story of the sea witch from Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid” told in the vein of Wicked – from the villainess’s point of view A beautiful picture of the Havnestad Coast where THE SEA WITCH takes place     The Sea Witch Fun Facts! Eight […]

Posted October 15, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ Miles Away from You ..

EE18ers ~ Miles Away from You Aesthetics by A. B. Rutledge + Giveaway!

Miles Away from You by A.B. Rutledge Published by HMH Books for Young Readers Publication Date: March 20th 2018 Pages: 272 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Eighteen months after Vivien, his beloved transgender girlfriend, slipped into a coma after a suicide attempt, eighteen-year-old Miles begins healing while photographing her empty shoes against the stark landscapes of Iceland. Told through a series of instant messages.             Miles […]

Posted October 14, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 1 Comment

EE18ers ~ Author Interview w/ ..

EE18ers ~ Author Interview w/ Rachel Lynn Solomon + Giveaway!

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon Published by Simon Pulse Publication Date: January 2 2018 Pages: 384 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N Goodreads A moving, lyrical debut novel about twins who navigate first love, their Jewish identity, and opposite results from a genetic test that determines their fate—whether they inherited their mother’s Huntington’s disease. Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common besides their ambitious nature. […]

Posted October 13, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 2 Comments

EE18ers ~ Playlist by Lyndsay ..

EE18ers ~ Playlist by Lyndsay Ely + Giveaway!

Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely, James Patterson Published by jimmy patterson Publication Date: January 2nd 2018 Pages: 432 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads James Patterson presents a bold new heroine–a cross between Katniss Everdeen and Annie Oakley: Serendipity Jones, the fastest sharpshooter in tomorrow’s West. Seventeen-year-old Serendipity “Pity” Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She’s been offered a life of fame and […]

Posted October 12, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 2 Comments

EE18ers ~ Keeper by Kim Chance..

EE18ers ~ Keeper by Kim Chance Character Interview + Giveaway!

Keeper by Kim Chance Published by Flux Books/North Star Editions Publication Date: January 30th 2018 Pages: 408 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads When a 200-year-old witch attacks her, sixteen-year-old bookworm Lainey Styles is determined to find a logical explanation. Even with the impossible staring her in the face, Lainey refuses to believe it—until she finds a photograph linking the witch to her dead mother. After consulting a psychic, Lainey discovers that […]

Posted October 11, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, Interviews, My Features / 3 Comments

EE18ers ~ Top 11 Sayings by He..

EE18ers ~ Top 11 Sayings by Heather Christie + Giveaway!

What The Valley Knows by Heather Christie Published by Black Rose writing Publication Date: January 25th 2018 Pages: 250 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Millington Valley is a quintessential small Pennsylvania town: families go back generations. Football rules. Kids drink while adults look the other way. High school is a whirlwind of aspiration and rivalry, friendship and jealousy. When smart and pretty Molly Hanover moves to town and attracts the attention […]

Posted October 10, 2017 by Nori in Giveaway, My Features / 1 Comment