Tag: 5stars

Five Star Book Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner!!!

Posted May 27, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 17 Comments

Five Star Book Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner!!!The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 8th 2016
Pages: 384
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

The only antidote to all this venom is his friendship with fellow outcasts Travis and Lydia. But as they are starting their senior year, Dill feels the coils of his future tightening around him. The end of high school will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is happy wherever he is thanks to his obsession with the epic book series Bloodfall and the fangirl who may be turning his harsh reality into real-life fantasy.

Dill’s only escapes are his music and his secret feelings for Lydia—neither of which he is brave enough to share. Graduation feels more like an ending to Dill than a beginning. But even before then, he must cope with another ending—one that will rock his life to the core.

Debut novelist Jeff Zentner provides an unblinking and at times comic view of the hard realities of growing up in the Bible Belt, and an intimate look at the struggles to find one’s true self in the wreckage of the past.

REVIEW

Wow. I will admit that when I originally heard about The Serpent King, I didn’t think it was a “me” book. But, all of my friends were raving about it, and I saw it at ALAMW, so I figured that I would give it a shot. Let’s just say that I am THRILLED that I decided to read it, because it was amazing. I am sure that this is going to go down as one of my favorite books from 2016- YES it was that good.

Let me first talk about the characters- Dill, Lydia, and Travis. They were all misfits, people who were scorned by their peers for being weird, but to me, they were perfect. All of them had their hardships; none of them had an easy life. But, they didn’t let that stop them from dreaming. THE SERPENT KING is a coming of age story, a book that all teens should read. I am positive that everyone, no matter who they are, will be able to find something to relate to in one of the three characters.

Dill grew up in an extremely religious household. His father was a pastor, so you’d imagine that he had a pretty rule abiding family- but you would be wrong. Dill’s father was actually in jail due to charges of having pornographic material found on his computer. To make matters worse, Dill’s mother was annoyed at Dill because he didn’t take the blame for his father’s mistake. Imagine living like that- living in a house where you’re barely making rent, with a mother who doesn’t love you, and being surrounded 24/7 by your father’s shadow. It’s no wonder that Dill is extremely depressed and has no self confidence.

Travis had an even worse life- his father was an alcoholic, and often took out his anger on Travis. His parents were a strange pair- his father, the star quarterback and bully in high school, and his mother, the sweet cheerleader who was friends with everyone. Back then, everyone thought that his mom would help mellow his father out, but apparently that didn’t work out. Every time that Travis’ father was in a scene, he made me sick to my stomach. I felt awful. Travis didn’t deserve that. No one deserves that.

Now, onto Lydia. Oh my gosh- I LOVED Lydia. I honestly can see her being one of my close friends. She was a fashionista who started her own blog (yes a blogger :D) and she had hundreds of thousands of followers. She was famous to the point of being interviewed in the New York Times! But, just because her online life was great doesn’t mean anything about her real life. People at school hated her, and tried bullying her (along with Dill and Travis). Surprisingly, these were some of my favorite moments in the book, because this is where she showed off her sassy side. She was perfect. She didn’t let anyone else tell her what she should do; instead, she stood up for herself and for her friends. Her loyalty (and sassiness) made me smile and laugh multiple times while reading.

Okay, now that you’ve met the characters, I guess I can tell you a little bit about why this book really stood out to me. As I mentioned above, the characters were extremely complex, and I adored them. They constantly made decisions that I never saw coming, and I loved watching them grow up and mature into who they became at the end.

Also, there was one moment in particular where something came out of nowhere, and shocked me. I had to read the page three times in order to confirm that what I read was true. I’m not going to tell you what happened, but let’s just say that there is no way that you can figure it out until it happens, and it will blow your mind. It is insane. Jeff Zentner took a risk by putting it in the novel, and the risk paid off. Wow. I’m still recovering from it actually.

I’d also like to share one of my favorite quotes! Believe me when I say there were tons of quotes that I simply adored (and you can check out my GR status updates for more), but this one in particular really stood out to me.

“She’s it. She’s my everything. She’s the standard by which I’ll judge beauty for the rest of my life. I’ll measure every touch to her breath on my skin. Every voice to her voice. Every mind to her mind. My measure of perfection. The name carved into me. If I could, I would lie with her under these stars until my heart burst.” 

Overall, if you couldn’t tell, I absolutely LOVED this book, and suggest that you hop online right NOW and buy it. It’s incredible. You NEED it!

five-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Book Review: Please Don’..

Book Review: Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims!

Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims Published by HarperTeen Publication Date: May 24th 2016 Genres: Dark Contemporary Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Debut author Laura Tims writes an intense and utterly gripping contemporary YA tale perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars. Joy has done everything to protect her twin sister…including murder. Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that’s what she […]

Posted May 13, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 11 Comments

Blog Tour: The Mirror King by ..

Blog Tour: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows: Review + Giveaway!!!

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) by Jodi Meadows Published by Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: April 5th 2016 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 544 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  The Book Depository Goodreads Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies. HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in […]

Top Ten Tuesday #78: Most Rece..

Top Ten Tuesday #78: Most Recent 5 Star Books!

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Tuesday #78: Most Recent 5 Star Books! I decided to highlight the top 5 books that I’ve read in 2016 so far (which all were 5 star reads). Without further ado…I give you…BOOKS YOU MUST READ!!! 1. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner (Review to come) 2. How It Feels to Fly by Kathryn […]

Posted March 29, 2016 by Nori in Book Meme / 23 Comments

ARC Review: Kill the Boy Band ..

ARC Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky !!!

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky Published by Point Publication Date: February 23rd 2016 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 320 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Goodreads From debut author Goldy Moldavsky, the story of four superfan friends whose devotion to their favorite boy band has darkly comical and murderous results. Okay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to […]

Posted February 5, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 10 Comments

ARC Review: Truthwitch by Susa..

ARC Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard!!!

Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1) by Susan Dennard Published by Tor Teen Publication Date: January 5th 2016 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 416 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others. In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as […]

Posted December 6, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 21 Comments

November SST: For the Record b..

November SST: For the Record by Charlotte Huang Quote Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

Welcome to the Sunday Street Team!!! I am pleased to have Charlotte Huang as one of November’s featured authors. For the Record Charlotte Huang Release Date: 11/10/2015 Synopsis: Chelsea thought she knew what being a rock star was like . . . until she became one. After losing a TV talent show, she slid back into small-town anonymity. But one phone call changed everything. Now she’s the lead singer of the band […]

Posted November 15, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews, Giveaway, Street Team / 1 Comment

Book Review: Open Road Summer ..

Book Review: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord!!!

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord Published by Walker Childrens Publication Date: April 15th 2014 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 352 Format: Physical Book Source: Bought Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about […]

Posted September 4, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

ARC Review: The Accident Seaso..

ARC Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Published by Corgi Childrens Publication Date: August 18th 2015 Genres: Magical Realism Pages: 280 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom. The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths […]

Posted August 19, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 11 Comments

ARC Review: The Fixer by Jenni..

ARC Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes!!!

The Fixer The Fixer Jennifer Lynn Barnes Release Date: 07/07/2015 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Synopsis: This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars. Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of […]

Posted July 17, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 6 Comments