Tag: 4.5stars

Book Review: Seven Black Diamonds ~ Love Fae? Read This Book!

Posted October 14, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

Book Review: Seven Black Diamonds ~ Love Fae? Read This Book!Seven Black Diamonds (Seven Black Diamonds, #1) by Melissa Marr
Published by HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 1st 2016
Pages: 400
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Lilywhite Abernathy is a criminal. Her father’s “unconventional” business has meant a life of tightly held secrets, concealed weaponry, and a strict code. But Lily’s crime isn’t being the daughter of a powerful mob boss. Her guilt lies in the other half of her DNA—the part that can coax ancient rumors from stones and summon fire with a thought. Lily is part fae, which is a crime in her world.

From the time before she was born, a war has been raging between humanity and fae. The Queen of Blood and Rage, ruler of both the Seelie and Unseelie courts, wants to avenge the tragic death of her heir—a death that was the fault of reckless humans.

Lily’s father has shielded her from the repercussions of her ancestry…until she is sent to the prestigious St. Columba’s school, straight into the arms of the Black Diamonds.

Mysterious, glamorous, and bound together in their mission but constantly at odds, Zephyr, Creed, Will, Roan, Violet, and Alkamy are a Sleeper cell of fae, planted in the human world to help destroy it from within. With covers as rock stars and celebrity children, the Black Diamonds carry out the queen’s war against humanity. And unbeknownst to Lilywhite, she’s been chosen to join them.

Now more than ever, Lily’s heritage puts her in peril, and even the romantic attention of the fae singer Creed Morrison isn’t enough to keep Lily from wanting to run back to the safer world of organized crime.
Melissa Marr returns to faery in a dramatic story of the precarious space between two worlds and the people who must thrive there.

BOOK REVIEW

Ahhhhh it was so nice to finally read a fae book. I haven’t read one in forever, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I’m happy to report that my love for all things fae has NOT gone away. Melissa Marr, thank you for writing this book and reintroducing me to one of my childhood loves. Okay, now that that’s taken care of, let me start my actual review.

From the very first page, I was hooked. I knew that I was going to love the beautiful prose, and I knew that I would be enthralled- put under a spell of magic, if you will. Now, magic in SEVEN BLACK DIAMONDS focuses on the elements- air, earth, fire, and water. *cues fangirling* I love when there is elemental based magic! It makes my heart warm and happy. Lily, the main character, has the highest affinity for Earth, which is definitely the affinity that best represents me, so it was easy to relate to her.

Melissa Marr spins a tale that takes the reader on a journey of secrets, family, denial, magic, and a hint of love. Once you start reading, you’re not going to want to stop. Instead, you’ll want to know what happens next and before you know it- you’ll have finished the book and greedily start waiting for the next one. Well, that’s what happened to me at least. 😉

There is one slight flaw in SEVEN BLACK DIAMONDS, but at the same time, it’s also one of the most shocking details. You see, there are quite a number of characters, and in the beginning, it is difficult to keep track of them all. I did not understand why the book was focusing on different perspectives when they didn’t seem to have much in common. But, after finishing, I understand why Melissa Marr did what she did. I guarantee that every character introduced has a purpose- you just don’t always know what it is until it’s revealed.

Overall I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5/5stars.

four-half-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Double Mini Reviews- Double th..

Double Mini Reviews- Double the Fun! Check out ASIC and GATU!

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1) by Brittany Cavallaro Published by Katherine Tegen Books Publication Date: March 1st 2016 Pages: 321 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited […]

Posted October 7, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

June SST: All the Feels by Dan..

June SST: All the Feels by Danika Stone Review + Giveaway!!!

All the Feels by Danika Stone Published by Swoon Reads Publication Date: June 7th 2016 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 336 Format: Physical ARC Source: Publisher, SST Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal. Tired of sitting […]

Posted June 26, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews, Giveaway, Street Team / 1 Comment

ARC Review: Summer of Supernov..

ARC Review: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods!!!

Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods Published by Crown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: May 10th 2016 Pages: 352 Goodreads Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams. When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle […]

Posted April 29, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 4 Comments

ARC Review: The Girl Who Fell ..

ARC Review: The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker!!!

The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker Published by Simon Pulse Publication Date: March 1st 2016 Pages: 368 Format: Physical ARC Source: Borrowed Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads His obsession. Her fall. In this dark kissing book, high school senior Zephyr Doyle is swept off her feet—and into an intense relationship—by the new boy in school. Zephyr is focused. Focused on leading her team to the field hockey state championship […]

Posted February 19, 2016 by Nori in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

ARC Review: HEAR by Robin Epst..

ARC Review: HEAR by Robin Epstein!!!

Hear by Robin Epstein Published by Soho Teen Publication Date: December 29th 2015 Genres: Scifi Pages: 272 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Expelled from high school months shy of graduation—her acceptance to Columbia revoked due to vigilante justice gone awry—Kassandra Black is sent to work in her great-uncle Brian’s lab at Henley University. She’s helping with his HEAR (Henley Engineering Anomalies Research) program, and hopefully getting […]

Posted December 23, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ARC Review: Wolf By Wolf by Ry..

ARC Review: Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin!!!

Wolf By Wolf (Wolf By Wolf, #1) by Ryan Graudin Publication Date: October 20th 2015 Genres: Historical Fiction Pages: 388 Format: Physical ARC Source: Conference Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their […]

Posted October 9, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Book Review: Something Real by..

Book Review: Something Real by Heather Demetrios!!!

Something Real by Heather Demetrios Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Publication Date: February 4th 2014 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 406 Format: Physical Book Source: Bought Goodreads Seventeen-year-old Bonnie™ Baker has grown up on TV—she and her twelve siblings are the stars of one-time hit reality show Baker’s Dozen. Since the show’s cancellation, Bonnie™ has tried to live a normal life, under the radar and out of the spotlight. […]

Posted July 23, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 4 Comments

ARC Review: Days Like This by ..

ARC Review: Days Like This by Danielle Ellison!!!

Days Like This by Danielle Ellison Published by Bookish Group Press Publication Date: June 2nd 2015 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 220 Format: eARC Source: SST Goodreads Sometimes the only thing standing between fear and hope is you. Almost a year ago, nineteen-year-old Cassie Harlen had a lot to deal with. A stack of college acceptance letters waiting for answers, a proposal from the boy next door, and a mother whose […]

Posted June 17, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews, Giveaway / 3 Comments

ARC Review: Making Pretty by C..

ARC Review: Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu!!!

Making Pretty Making Pretty Corey Ann Haydu Release Date: 05/12/2015 Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Synopsis: Montana and her sister, Arizona, are named after the mountainous states their mother left them for. But Montana is a New York City girl through and through, and as the city heats up, she’s stepping into the most intense summer of her life. With Arizona wrapped up in her college world and their father distracted […]

Posted May 25, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 2 Comments