Tag: 3.5stars

ARC Review: Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead!!!

Posted August 28, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

ARC Review: Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead!!!Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead
Published by Wendy Lamb Books
Publication Date: August 4th 2015
Genres: Light Contemporary
Pages: 304
Format: Physical ARC
Source: Conference
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Bridge is an accident survivor who's wondering why she's still alive. Emily has new curves and an almost-boyfriend who wants a certain kind of picture. Tabitha sees through everybody's games—or so she tells the world. The three girls are best friends with one rule: No fighting. Can it get them through seventh grade? This year everything is different for Sherm Russo as he gets to know Bridge Barsamian. What does it mean to fall for a girl—as a friend? On Valentine's Day, an unnamed high school girl struggles with a betrayal. How long can she hide in plain sight?

Princess Sofia RegularAlthough Goodbye Stranger was a MG book, it didn’t feel like one while I was reading it. I actually wasn’t sure how to classify it until I noticed that the main characters were in 7th and 8th grade.

Middle school is an awkward time, and also happens to be a time when you find out who your true friends are. This was definitely the case with Bridge, Emily, and Tabitha. They had been best friends for what seemed like forever, and they had one rule- no fighting. But when Emily started developing a crush on an older guy, she started to drift away from Bridge and Tabitha, and instead moved closer to Julie (an older girl) and the soccer girls. Also, Tabitha joined a human rights club, leaving Bridge with nothing to do. Because of this, Bridge ended up joining the Tech Crew. To her surprise, one of her classmates, Sherm, was also part of the same club. With all of the drama corroding her friendships with her friends, Bridge started to warm up to Sherm more and more.

While reading Goodbye Stranger, I found it interesting that the novel alternated between third person POV centered around Bridge, and first person POV centered around a mystery girl. It seemed like I should have made the connection as to who the mysterious girl was, but all of the names kept confusing me. I think that I would have enjoyed the book more without the first person POV.
While there was some unnecessary drama in this book, I think that it portrayed middle school insecurities well, and I really enjoyed it! As I mentioned earlier, the only thing that I didn’t love about the book was the mysterious 1st person POV scenes.

Overall, I give this book 3.5/5stars.

three-half-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Blog Tour: The Summer After Yo..

Blog Tour: The Summer After You and Me by Jennifer Doktorski REVIEW + GIVEAWAY!!!

The Summer After You and Me Jennifer Doktorski Release Date: 05/01/2015 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Received From: Netgalley Synopsis: Will it be a summer of fresh starts or second chances? For Lucy, the Jersey Shore isn’t just the perfect summer escape, it’s home. As a local girl, she knows not to get attached to the tourists. They breeze in during Memorial Day weekend, crowding her costal town and stealing moonlit kisses, […]

ARC Review: The Fill-In Boyfri..

ARC Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend By Kasie West!!!

The Fill-In Boyfriend Kasie West Release Date: 05/05/2015 Publisher: HarperTeen Borrowed From: Sajda Synopsis: When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she […]

Posted April 22, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

ARC Review: Finding Paris by J..

ARC Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble!!!

Finding Paris Joy Preble Release Date: 04/21/2015 Publisher: HarperTeen Synopsis: An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other–perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives. Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each […]

Posted April 17, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

Book Review: The Boyfriend App..

Book Review: The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise!!!

The Boyfriend App Katie Sise Release Date: 04/30/2013 Publisher: Balzar & Bray Received From: Personal Copy Synopsis: Get the app. Get the guy.Computer-whiz Audrey McCarthy feels most at home in a tech lab, surrounded by her fellow geeks. Once popular and fearless, she hasn’t been the same since her dad died. And her ex-best friend, gorgeous queen bee Blake Dawkins, has turned into her worst nightmare. Audrey is counting the […]

Posted April 3, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ARC Review: Inherit Midnight b..

ARC Review: Inherit Midnight by Kate Kae Myers!!!

Inherit Midnight Kate Kae Myers Release Date: 02/10/2015 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Received From: Netgalley Synopsis: The Competition: Outlandishly wealthy Grandmother VanDemere has decided to leave her vast fortune to the family member who proves him or herself worthiest-by solving puzzles and riddles on a whirlwind race around the globe, from the mines of Venezuela to the castles of Scotland. There will be eight competitors, three continents . . . and […]

Posted February 13, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Book Review: Exquisite Captive..

Book Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios!!!

Exquisite Captive Heather Demetrios Release Date: October 7, 2014 Publisher: Balzer + Bray My Own Copy Synopsis: Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Stuffed into a bottle and sold by a slave trader, she’s now in hiding on the dark caravan, the lucrative […]

Posted January 2, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews, Street Team / 13 Comments

Imitation Blog Tour: Review + ..

Imitation Blog Tour: Review + Interview!

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me. Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re […]

Posted September 22, 2014 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Book Reviews, Interviews / 1 Comment

ARC Review: Snow Like Ashes by..

ARC Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Publisher: Balzer + Bray Published on: October 14th, 2014 Pages: 432 Amazon | Goodreads Have you ever heard how amazing a book is and then become sorely disappointed? While I was reading the beginning of Snow Like Ashes, I was afraid that was going to happen to me. After all, all of my fellow book bloggers on Twitter seemed to love it. But for […]

Posted September 12, 2014 by Nori in Book Reviews, TGIF / 11 Comments