Category: Guest Posts

Guest Post About YA Lifeline- a Charity Auction Benefiting The Trevor Project

Posted October 3, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 3 Comments

GUEST POST

 

Back in spring of 2015, I was editing a YA anthology of Shakespeare retellings called Perchance to Dream. Though I had published several short stories in various collections at that point, it was the first time I had ever edited a book myself, and I was excited and nervous and all the things that come along with doing something like this for the first time. I was worried about doing a good job on the edits, worried about living up to the authors’ expectations, and worried (but hopeful!) about the book being a success.

 

The one thing I hadn’t been worried about was the book being scrutinized for containing stories featuring LGBT characters.

 

I suppose maybe I should have been—I still vividly remembered what had happened to Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith when they were querying Stranger—but I guess I’d figured that over the following four years, things had changed. The #WeNeedDiverseBooks movement had taken off, gay marriage bans across the US were being overturned (and we were just months away from Obergefell v. Hodges making marriage equality legal nationwide), opinions were shifting, and I was feeling quite optimistic about the state of the world—or at least the state of YA.

 

And then a publishing professional asked me if the content in Perchance to Dream was age-appropriate. And when I cheerfully answered yes, they clarified: but did it have LGBT characters? As if the mere presence of LGBT characters automatically made it inappropriate.

 

I was flabbergasted and infuriated. In the long run, it didn’t really matter; the book came out as expected and has been well-received. This was just one person. But it still bothered me, particularly since this person was aware that I am queer when they said it. I kept thinking about all the readers out there who have been denied stories that reflect them because of people like this. About kids who might be feeling alone, and who really need to see people like them in the books they read.

 

When we were coming up to the one-year anniversary of Perchance to Dream’s publication, I thought about this encounter again, and I decided that I was going to do something about it. I wanted a way to counteract these kinds of toxic people, whose ignorance and cruelty drive LGBT teens to suicide at two to six times the rate of straight teens.

 

That’s when I came up with the idea for YA Lifeline, a charity auction benefiting The Trevor Project, the leading crisis intervention hotline for LGBT teens and young adults in the US. What if the YA community could come together to show our support for the LGBT community and help save lives through our books?

 

I got in touch with fellow YA authors G.L. Tomas (sisters Guinevere and Libertad, who write under a joint pen name) and shared my idea with them. And together, we’ve made the event a reality: an online charity auction running from October 6-17.

 

I’m so excited by how much incredible support we’ve gotten from the YA community. So many amazing authors have donated books, swag, and critiques, including Jodi Meadows, Cindy Pon, Kim Zarins, Pintip Dunn, Louise Gornall, Julia Ember, and many, many more. Whether you’re a reader or an aspiring author yourself, there’s something for everyone. There will also be an option during the auction to donate directly to The Trevor Project if you’d like to help out but aren’t able to bid.

 

I’m incredibly hopeful that our event will help make an impact, and that moving into the future, things will continue to change and improve for the LGBT community, until incidents like the one that sparked YA Lifeline are just a distant memory!

 

Relevant links: YA Lifeline Website ~ Auction Website ~ Donate to Trevor Project ~ Twitter ~ FB Event


About the Author

LYSSA CHIAVARI is an author of YA science fiction and fantasy, including Fourth World, the first book of The Iamos Trilogy. She is also a blogger for The Pack of Aces, an evil alliance of asexual speculative fiction authors that seek to promote ace visibility in science fiction, fantasy, and horror. When she’s not writing, you can usually find her exploring the woods of her home state of Oregon or losing an unreasonable number of life balloons on Donkey Kong. You can visit her at her website or on Twitter @lyssachiavari.

Tags: , , , ,


Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends..

Blog Tour: This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Guest Post

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Publication Date: October 4th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Sloane isn’t expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that’s exactly what happens. Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights […]

Posted October 2, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Int..

Sweet & Swanky 17ers~ Introducing…Jake Burt and 10 Amazing MG Read Aloud Novels + Giveaway!

Greetings from Witness Protection! Published by Feiwel & Friends The book is about a 13-year-old pickpocket in the foster-care system who longs for her own family. When a clan called the Trevors offers to take her in, it seems like she’s gotten exactly what she wanted – until she learns that the family is being pursued by a killer and is about to enter the witness-protection program. TEN AMAZING MG […]

Posted September 7, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, My Features / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: The Possibility of ..

Blog Tour: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Guest Post!

The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: September 6th 2016 Pages: 320 Purchase Links Amazon Goodreads Together is somewhere they long to be. Ash Gupta has a life full of possibility. His senior year is going exactly as he’s always wanted– he’s admired by his peers, enjoying his classes and getting the kind of grades that his wealthy, immigrant parents expect. There’s only […]

Posted August 30, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Guest Posts / 1 Comment

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Gues..

August SST: Me, Not Me- a Guest Post from Kathleen Glasgow + Giveaway!

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Published by Delacorte Press Publication Date: August 30th 2016 Pages: 416 Goodreads For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.      Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. […]

Posted August 28, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to..

Blog Tour: Pictures Related to Gifted by H. A Swain + Giveaway!!!

Gifted by H.A. Swain Published by Feiwel & Friends Publication Date: June 14th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In Orpheus Chanson’s world, geniuses and prodigies are no longer born or honed through hard work. Instead, procedures to induce Acquired Savant Abilities (ASAs) are now purchased by the privileged. And Orpheus’s father holds the copyright to the ASA procedure. Zimri Robinson, a natural […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 8 Comments

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Muk..

Blog Tour: Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee~ Top 10 Books & Videos About Real Conjoined Twins + Giveaway!!!

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Publication Date: July 26th 2016 Pages: 336 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N~  Indiebound~  iBooks~  The Book Depository Goodreads In a powerful and daring debut novel, Sonya Mukherjee shares the story of sisters Clara and Hailey, conjoined twins who are learning what it means to be truly extraordinary. Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins Clara and Hailey have lived in the same […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Nori in Blog Tour/ Blitzes, Giveaway, Guest Posts / 5 Comments

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unboun..

Guest Post by Rebecca @ Unbound Pages: 3 Reasons You Should Be Creating Graphics for Every Post

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to be guest-posting today on Nori’s blog! I had the pleasure of meeting Nori at BEA in May and she is just as sweet in real life as she is online. So I know all her readers are the nicest! Before we get started, a little about me. I’m Rebecca and I blog over at Unbound Pages . I’ve been blogging for a little over […]

Posted July 15, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 11 Comments

Guest Post by Calista Lynne: W..

Guest Post by Calista Lynne: Writing the Villain ~ The Many Layers of Morality

We Awaken by Calista Lynne Published by Harmony Ink Press Publication Date: July 14th 2016 Pages: 180 Purchase Links Amazon~  B&N Goodreads Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an […]

Posted July 14, 2016 by Nori in Guest Posts / 2 Comments

July SST: Signs of You by Emil..

July SST: Signs of You by Emily France Guest Post + Giveaway!!!

Signs of You by Emily France Published by Soho Teen Publication Date: July 19th 2016 Genres: Light Contemporary Pages: 240 Format: Physical ARC Source: Publisher, SST Goodreads Since sixteen-year-old Riley Strout lost her mother two years ago, her saving grace has been her quirky little family in the grief support group she joined as a freshman. Jay, Kate, and Noah understand her pain; each lost a loved one, and they’ve […]

Posted July 10, 2016 by Nori in Giveaway, Guest Posts, Street Team / 3 Comments