Book Review: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Posted August 28, 2020 by Nori in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Book Review: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn GraceAll the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1) by Adalyn Grace
Published by Imprint
Publication Date: February 4, 2020
Pages: 373
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

She will reign.
As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.

When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.
Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

Book Review

Recently I’ve enjoyed going into books without reading their summary. The way I often choose books is a bit unique.I have a large TBR pile in my room that I previously vetted to make sure I was interested in the book, but I rarely remember the synopsis of every book in that pile. Sometimes my method works out really well and I find the book more intriguing because I don’t know what to expect. Unfortunately, this time I didn’t love the book that I randomly chose from my pile. Before starting All the Stars and Teeth, I did not realize that it was a ship book. For some reason I have a weird relationship with ship books…Most of the time I find them to be okay, but it’s rare for me to find something truly amazing.

From the beginning of All the Stars and Teeth, I could tell that the author was extremely gifted in writing descriptions. Her prose is very flowery. I am the type of person where I think that flowery writing can be powerful when used in specific points but I don’t love it when the entire book is filled with flowery words and the first half of All the Stars and Teeth was written that way.

I thought that the character development was interesting and there were some twists and turns that I did not predict but the vast majority of them I did predict. There was only one part that really surprised me within the book. In addition, I thought that the characters were okay but nothing special. I did like how the main character was extremely stubborn and willful and wanted to do what she thought was best for the kingdom, but I didn’t feel attached to any of the other characters. I also didn’t fall in love with the romance.

Overall, All the Stars and Teeth was not a bad book, it just wasn’t a great fit for me. If you like ship books and flowery writing, you will probably like All the Stars and Teeth. I give it 3/5 stars.

Tags: ,


One response to “Book Review: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Leave a Reply