#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!

Posted May 23, 2020 by Nori in Event Recaps! / 2 Comments

For those of you who don’t know, I like to host a twitter chat called #RQWN (aka Random Questions with Nori)! I hadn’t hosted one since December 2018 so last weekend I decided to host it again! After all, what better way to celebrate my return to blogging than with a fun twitter chat? 😀

It was really fun to get back into the twitter chat universe again and see so many old friends! If you happened to miss out on it, you can check out this moment I created with some of the hilarious tweets from the chat.

When I say that the questions are truly random, I mean it!

Let’s take a look together at some of the questions!


In particular, I wanted to share with you some of the answers from Q4, where I asked for 2020 unreleased book recommendations! There were so many great responses and I thought it would be fun to share some of the recommendations with you.

Disclaimer: I have not read any of these books and JUST added them to my TBR after #RQWN!

Now, let me share the recommendations with you all! Thanks to Liv, Sarah, Lettie, Uma, and Bree respectively!

#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!Recommended for You by Laura Silverman
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: September 1, 2020
Pages: 272
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus.

Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and her beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape.
When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan.
Jake is an affront to everything Shoshanna stands for. He doesn’t even read! But somehow his sales start to rival hers. Jake may be cute (really cute), and he may be an eligible Jewish single (hard to find south of Atlanta), but he’s also the enemy, and Shoshanna is ready to take him down.
But as the competition intensifies, Jake and Shoshanna grow closer and realize they might be more on the same page than either expects…


#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey
Published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 6, 2020
Pages: 320
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

Teenage master of Cuban cuisine, Lila Reyes, is eager to inherit her family’s Miami bakery along with her sister, Pilar. But between spring and graduation, Lila’s abuela dies, her best friend abandons her, and her long-time boyfriend dumps her. Fearing Lila’s emotional health, her parents defy her wishes and entrust her summer to family and their Winchester, England inn. Even though she’s given a space to cook at the inn, she longs for Miami, the seat of her Cuban roots. Being a Miami Cuban baker is her glorified past and destined future, forged by years of training by her loving abuela.
Days into her stay, Orion Maxwell barges into Lila’s inn kitchen with a delivery from his family’s tea shop. A nuisance at first, opposite ingredients soon learn to blend. Orion befriends Lila, introducing her to his mates and devouring her food––comida Cubana.
Orion entertains her with his mental collection of superstitions and sweeps her onto his vintage motorbike. He wraps cold, underdressed Lila in his wool cardigan and becomes her personal tour guide. His mum’s early-onset (FTD) Dementia gives Orion a unique outlook––he never asks too much of the world, accepting what he can’t control. Lila soon discovers this British boy brings empathy to her loss because he’s living his own.
Before long, Lila can’t control the route of her own heart as she begins to fall for more than a new love. England has charmed her. And a special opportunity in London tempts her. As her return ticket looms, Lila feels impossibly caught between two flags. Hearts aren’t supposed to split like this––between a beautiful boy and a beautiful family. Between exploring an uncharted future in a rich new place, and honoring Abuela’s treasured legacy.

#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria
Publication Date: August 4, 2020
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

RITA
® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of

Jane the Virgin

and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 
After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 
Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy
After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 
Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!Hunted by the Sky (Hunted by the Sky, #1) by Tanaz Bhathena
Publication Date: June 23, 2020
Pages: 384
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for years. Gul's mark is what caused her parents' murder at the hand of King Lohar's ruthless soldiers and forced her into hiding to protect her own life. So when a group of rebel women called the Sisters of the Golden Lotus rescue her, take her in, and train her in warrior magic, Gul wants only one thing: revenge.

Cavas lives in the tenements, and he's just about ready to sign his life over to the king's army. His father is terminally ill, and Cavas will do anything to save him. But sparks fly when he meets a mysterious girl--Gul--in the capital's bazaar, and as the chemistry between them undeniably grows, he becomes entangled in a mission of vengeance--and discovers a magic he never expected to find.

Dangerous circumstances have brought Gul and Cavas together at the king's domain in Ambar Fort . . . a world with secrets deadlier than their own. Exploring identity, class struggles, and high-stakes romance, Hunted by the Sky is a gripping adventure set in a world inspired by medieval India.

#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!Instant Karma by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: November 3, 2020
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

In this contemporary romance with a bit of magic, chronic overachiever Prudence Daniels is always quick to cast judgment on the lazy, rude, and arrogant residents of her coastal town.

Her dreams of karmic justice are fulfilled when, during a night out with her friends, she slips on a spilled drink and hits her head, only to wake up with the sudden ability to cast instant karma on those around her.

Pru giddily makes use of the power, punishing everyone from public vandals to karaoke hecklers, but there is one person on whom her powers consistently backfire — Quint Erickson, her slacker of a lab partner and all-around mortal enemy.

Over the course of a summer, Pru begins to uncover truths about Quint, her peers, and even herself that reveal how thin the line is between virtue and vanity, generosity and greed... love and hate.




#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 23, 2020
Pages: 432
Purchase Links Amazon
Goodreads

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.







Have you heard of these recommendations before? I hope you found at least one new book to add to your TBR! Let me know in the comments below!

Also, let me know if you want to be added to a Twitter DM notifications group to be notified when #RQWN is happening again!

Tags: ,


2 responses to “#RQWN Recap + 2020 Release Recommendations!

Leave a Reply