ARC Review: A Court of Roses and Thorns by Sarah J Maas!!!

Posted May 20, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 11 Comments

A Court of Thorns and Roses
Sarah J Maas
Release Date: 05/05/2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Received From: Betty through Kelly!
Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Princess Sofia Regular
When I heard Sarah J Maas and Fae (faerie) in the same sentence, I knew that I had to have this book! After all, they are two of my favorite things! 😉 I am very, very happy to say that I was not disappointed, and A Court of Thorns and Roses (aka ACOTAR) was just as good as I expected!

One of the reasons why I love Sarah J Maas’s books so much is because of the beautiful prose. Whenever she describes something, whether it be a character, setting, or emotion, I am able to picture it vividly. Her words are like a paintbrush on a blank canvas- they bring her books to life! One perfect example of her gorgeous descriptions came from page 46 in the ARC form of ACOTAR:

“Gritting my teeth, I might have demanded answers from him- might have shouted to where he still lumbered ahead, heedless of me. But then chirping birds flitted past me, and a mild breeze kissed my face. I spied a hedge-bordered metal gate ahead.
My prison or salvation- I couldn’t decide”.

I also loved the banter between all of the characters in ACOTAR. In the beginning, Feyre often bantered with her two sisters. Once Feyre was taken to the Fae world (I promise this really isn’t a spoiler), it seemed as though every other phrase that came from her mouth was either sarcastic, sassy, or simply badass. I love love loved it! She was not afraid to speak her mind- not one little bit. I am definitely adding her to my list of favorite heroines. Another reason why I loved Feyre was that she took a bad scenario and twisted it so that she could benefit from it! What I mean by that is that Feyre was stuck in the Fae realm, but used her time to learn a new skill.

As you start to read the middle/ending of the book, something EXTREMELY surprising happens. I can’t tell you what, but let’s just say that it threw me for a loop. I was 100% shocked and was not expecting it at all. The only hint that I can give is that there is a riddle, and a secret. I was very surprised to see that I figured out the riddle, but I had absolutely no idea as far as the secret. It was a twist beyond twists! And that ending? Oh my goodness I can’t wait for the next book to come out- I need to know what happens next!

If you can’t tell, I loved ACOTAR and highly recommend it. I give it 5/5stars.

Tags: , , ,


11 responses to “ARC Review: A Court of Roses and Thorns by Sarah J Maas!!!

  1. *sigh* I NEED TO START THIS SERIES QQ Then I’ll know what all the hype is about. Can’t really say I could read your review though (I’m sure it was great)–I was too worried about running into spoilers lol 😛

  2. Jessica @ The Psychotic Nerd

    YES! Sarah J. Maas has another book? SOLD! I’m so excited to read this book and I’m so glad that you enjoyed it! Also, there’s a plot twist?! LOVE THOSE! Even though they usually destroy me…

  3. So glad to know you were able to love this one just like you wanted to! I haven’t read ANY books by this author and I know that is something that really needs to change as everyone tells me how great they are. Personally, I am someone who LOVES a good retelling as well so this one seems right up my street.

Leave a Reply