ARC Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble!!!

Posted April 17, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

Finding Paris
Joy Preble
Release Date: 04/21/2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Synopsis:

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other–perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind–going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris–a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.


Princess Sofia Regular
Leo and Paris were sisters, only one year apart in age. They were opposites, yet did almost everything together. Leo was the smart one, the one who loved math and science and wanted to be a doctor. Paris was the artsy, wistful optimist, always having a smile on her face and dreaming about something fun. One night, they went to the restaurant where Paris worked, and ordered a coconut cream pie. That was the first time that Leo met Max, and it was also the last time that she saw Paris. Leo quickly found out that Paris had left her notes, and wanted her to go on a scavenger hunt with Max to find her. The notes were cryptic, and caused Leo to think back to her past, hoping that the clues would eventually lead her to Paris.

If you like books that are mostly contemporary, with a couple of dark and mysterious twists/turns, this will be a good book for you. I must admit, when I read the beginning, I only thought that it was okay. I was considering giving it 2.5-3 stars. It just wasn’t grabbing my attention. Sure, it was cute, but nothing really stood out to me. With that being said, I did like the writing style, and wanted to know what happened at the end, so I continued to read.

I am very happy about my decision because the last 30ish percent of the book was great! There were a ton of twists and turns that I did not see coming. I was able to guess a couple, but the majority were big surprises to me. Also, I will say this- the very end of the book had a huge plot twist containing a very serious subject. I am not going to say what it was, for fear of spoiling it, but I do think that it is important to mention.

Overall, I enjoyed Finding Paris, but I wasn’t thrilled with it. I give it 3.5stars.

Tags: , ,


6 responses to “ARC Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble!!!

  1. I’m really looking forward to reading this book.. I mean.. for one, the cover is really pleasing to the eye! Heh heh. I think i’ll get on ok with it after reading your review. I know I’ve done that with a lot of books, thought I’d probably give them a middel of the road rating and then the ending really makes up for it.

    🙂

  2. Lynnette

    I was thinking about reading this but your review makes me think maybe it’s not worth it? It seems like it is only ok.

Leave a Reply