ARC Review: Rules of Seduction by Jenna Mullins!!!

Posted April 13, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

Rules of Seduction
Rules of Seduction
Jenna Mullins
Release Date: 04/21/2015
Publisher: The Studio/Paper Lantern Lit
Synopsis:

The first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love.

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd.

But amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one: Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How To Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Anna Todd.


Princess Sofia Regular
Before I start my review, let me say this, do not judge this book by its title! The main character was not a vixen who was trying to become a seductress and sleep with as many men as possible. I promise, it wasn’t one of those deep, dark romance novels. Instead, it’s a light hearted New Adult book that was a very enjoyable read!

Meet Dani- she was a recent college graduate who has always had dreams of becoming a scriptwriter for Hollywood. Her passion and love for writing knows no bounds, and it is evident to everyone who knew her. Over the summer, she accepted an amazing internship opportunity, and arrived in Hollywood ready to work. The only problem? The business that she was supposed to work for went out of business, and Dani had no backup plan. Luckily for her, she had an unexpected reunion with one of her old friends, Elise, who got her another job in the industry. But Elise wanted something in return…she wanted Dani to flirt with her boyfriend and see whether he would stay loyal to her. With that plan in mind, what could ever go wrong?

I actually really enjoyed this book. For some reason, I’ve been in the mood for music/movie/reality themed books recently, and this hit the spot perfectly. There was a mixture of sweet and funny moments, yet also a couple of scenes that were dead serious. I thought that it flowed very well and provided a mixture of everything. Also, there was a well executed love triangle. Overall, Rules of Seduction was a very light and easy read.

I give it 4/5stars.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


3 responses to “ARC Review: Rules of Seduction by Jenna Mullins!!!

Leave a Reply