ARC Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink!!!

Posted March 27, 2015 by Nori in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

Lies I Told
Michelle Zink
Release Date: 04/07/2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Received From: Edelweiss
Synopsis:

What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you’ve told yourself?

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family.

But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines’ biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught…including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.


Princess Sofia Regular
If I had to pick one part of Lies I Told that stood out to me, it would be the characters. If you like books where the characters are cliche and stereotypical, this will not be a good book for you. But if you like books where the characters are the complete opposite of what you expect, you will enjoy Lies I Told. Let me start by describing the main character. Grace grew up in the foster care system until she was 11 years old and adopted. But her new family isn’t the typical family- they are con artists. Yes, they move a couple of times a year, get fake ID’s, steal some money, and repeat.

One of the reasons why I found Lies I Told so interesting was the internal battle within Grace. She knew that what she did was wrong, and as she started getting closer to her new friends, she had to decide which was more important- her friends or her family. This struggle played out throughout the entire book. Due to risk of spoilers, I will not tell you which she chose- you’ll have to read this book tofind out yourself! I will say that Michelle Zink (the author) has stated that the ARC ending is not the same as the book ending, so I’m not sure what will happen at the end of the published version.

While Grace was extremely interesting, she definitely wasn’t the only character to break out of the stereotypical character mode. Logan, the love interest, was known as the popular guy in school. He was rich, he had gone out with the queen bee, and he was athletic. But that’s where the cliche ends. While this may be surprising to some, he wasn’t a jerk, he wasn’t dumb, and he wasn’t a player. I found Logan to be extremely refreshing compared to many of the classic YA love interests. I actually consider him to be one of my book boyfriends. Yes, I am adding him to my list. I was impressed by how sincere and loyal he was.

As far as surprises and plot twists, there were a couple at the very end of the book, but there weren’t a ton. Sure, there were some mysteries in the beginning and middle, but they were very predictable. Overall I enjoyed this book and give it 4/5stars.

Tags: , ,


2 responses to “ARC Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink!!!

Leave a Reply