ARC Review: Get Happy by Mary Amato

Posted October 27, 2014 by Nori in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Get Happy
By Mary Amato
Release Date: October 28th, 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Received From: Netgalley
Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.

A hip high school girl who loves music, writes songs, and is desperate for a ukelele, learns to her shock that her father did not abandon her years ago and has been trying to keep in touch. She begins to investigate him, only to discover that he has a new life with a new family, including the perfect stepdaughter, a girl who Minerva despises.


Princess Sofia Regular

If I had to sum this book up in two sentences, this is what I would say: Cassie is a normal high school girl who loves to sing and her best friend is a guy. She lives with her mother because her father has been MIA ever since she was little. From those two sentences alone, I thought that this book was going to be fairly commonplace and wasn’t going to capture my attention. Luckily, as I started reading Get Happy, my fears vanished. There definitely were some cliche parts, but the plot itself was unlike any other plot that I have read. Some of the highlights included ukuleles, mermaids, competitions to see who could get the most cars to honk, and food fights.

Have you ever read a book and picked up on some hidden clues, but you were unsure whether you were correct or not? That happened to me in the middle of the book. If you look at my Goodreads updates, you can see the exact page that this occurred. I didn’t write down exactly what I thought was coming on my Goodreads, because I didn’t want to spoil it if I was correct. A couple of pages later, I found out that I was correct, which made me giddy with glee. If you do end up reading the book, I’d love to hear whether you picked up on the plot twist or not.

Something that was extremely unique to this story was the fact that the main character, Cassie, wrote her own songs and randomly sang them throughout the novel. Instead of just writing that she wrote a song, the author actually included the lyrics to the songs. I thought that the songs were an extremely clever addition to the novel.

Another thing that I loved about this book was the way romance was portrayed. In the beginning, I was a bit concerned that it was going to be a normal YA book including a love triangle, seeing as the main characters were two guys and a girl, but that never actually happened. There were some hints every now and then, but the book definitely focused on the plot instead of the romance. The three main characters actually ended up becoming really close friends, which was nice. But…the end…I must admit, a grin appeared on my face when I read the last page. It was perfect, absolutely perfect.

I give this book 4/5 stars.


Make sure to check out the Featured Author of the Month, CLICK HERE!

Also, please enter the GIVEAWAY for a chance to win 6 ebooks!

Tags: , ,


One response to “ARC Review: Get Happy by Mary Amato

Leave a Reply